Book Review ~ ‘Stone of Destiny’ by Laura Howard.

FINAL15

Stone of Destiny by Laura Howard
(The Danaan Trilogy #2)
Genres: New Adult Paranormal Romance.

41545-stoneofdestiny

۞

FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

Allison thought it was crazy enough when she found out her father, Liam, wasn’t entirely human. But now she has to join his magical allies to unravel his former mistress’s plans. Aoife wants to keep Allison’s parents apart forever.

Despite Allison’s efforts to keep Ethan, the only guy she’s ever cared about, out of this supernatural mess, fate keeps throwing him back into the mix.

Will Allison be able to find the amulet that holds the enchantment Aoife placed on Liam and destroy it? Are Ethan’ s feelings for Allison strong enough to endure the magic of the Tuatha De Danaan?

 goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

 ۞

FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘Stone of Destiny’ by Laura Howard ~ 5+ Stars!

I have eagerly been awaiting the release of ‘Stone of Destiny’ ever since I finished the last page of ‘The Forgotten Ones’ and it not only reached my expectations but surpassed them. I adored ‘The Forgotten Ones’ and didn’t think it was possible for Laura Howard to make me love the world she created more than I already did, but she did, and I just fell into the story with such ease and lost myself in the beautiful world of Tír na n’Óg that I felt bereft to leave it behind when I finished.

The first book was spectacularly written, but in ‘Stone of Destiny’ I really saw a beautiful development of Laura Howard’s writing style since book one, almost as though she had a new confidence that just shone through in her brilliant character and story development.

‘Stone of Destiny’ has us return right where we left off. I really saw the growth of Allison’s character in this book, and admired the strength of her devotion to keep her mother safe. Allison is the kind of character that I know a lot of girls will identify with and strive to be like, and I was no exception. I loved how human she was, despite how knowing of the Danaan has changed her perspective and hopes of life. Her very human feelings for Ethan were exceptionally written and my heart ached for her at the beginning of this book when we see Ethan acting cruelly to her. I was firmly on Team Allison until we find out that his behaviour is due to the meddling Danaan King, Deaghlan (Oh how I love to hate him, even when I’m kind of swooning over his arrogant bad-boy, but kind of charming demeanour).

The development of the other characters was also paced perfectly. It’s no secret that my favourite character in this series is Aodhan (seriously, I am so in love with this guy), and I loved seeing further into his complicated relationship with Danaan Princess Niamh, and getting to see Niamh in a different light. I am rooting for them so hard, that everytime I saw a development in their relationship I felt my heart ache from happiness. I know it will be a tough road, but that just makes it so satisfying to see the small changes in their relationship.

I loved the action in this book as well. We see the characters continuing their fight against Aoife, and there are many twists and turns in this story which makes you sit right on the edge of your seat, biting your lip as you await the outcome. Laura Howard did a fantastic job at teasing us with little snippets of information which then weigh on your mind throughout the book, making you less trusting of certain characters. Brilliantly done.

This was a fantastic sequel to one of my favourite books of 2013, and I know without a doubt that ‘Stone of Destiny’ will stay in my top favourites of 2014 as well.

Superb job Laura, and I CAN’T WAIT till Danaan #3!

5+ Stars!

۞

FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ B&N ~ Kobo ~

۞

FINAL1

p.txt

Laura Howard
Laura Howard lives in New Hampshire with her husband and four children. Her obsession with books began at the age of 6 when she got her first library card. Nancy Drew, Sweet Valley High and other girly novels were routinely devoured in single sittings. Books took a backseat to diapers when she had her first child. It wasn’t until the release of a little novel called Twilight, 8 years later, that she rediscovered her love of fiction. Soon after, her own characters began to make themselves known.

۞

FINAL8

~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Website ~

۞

One thought on “Book Review ~ ‘Stone of Destiny’ by Laura Howard.

  1. […] Book Review ~ ‘Stone of Destiny’ by Laura Howard. […]

Leave a comment