World Fantasy Convention ~ Day 1

So had a brilliant start to the World Fantasy Convention today! It started with the sudden realisation that it was Hallowe’en and that I needed a sophisticated outfit which could double as a costume for my favourite holiday. Therefore it seemed only fitting that I went as a Hufflepuff…

Image

I met some absolutely lovely people, including the wonderful Nancy Holder who wrote some of my favourite ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’ books and one of my favourite authors Sue Moorcroft. The panels I attended were so much fun and it was so great to hear from authors who are so passionate about fantasy, and to hear that fantasy is still very much a popular choice with readers.

I think the best thing so far in this convention is meeting the other readers and writers who really understand your passion for the genre. I have many a time been called a nerd by my friends due to my love for the magical worlds that you can escape to when you read a fantasy novel. I met the lovely Daphne M.E. Vanleene (twitter: @laurelleaves), another young aspiring author whose work sounds absolutely amazing, so give her a shout on Twitter!

Image

And that was only Day 1, and my iPad is already deciding that it doesn’t like wordpress so these blog posts will have to be cut short until I return home to my laptop. Tomorrow is an even longer day. Starting at 10am and finishing near Midnight…that’s going to be tough. Time for an early night I think. Catch you all tomorrow!

Image

2 thoughts on “World Fantasy Convention ~ Day 1

  1. […] Sorcha’s Updates – Day One and Day […]

  2. Oh! I hadn’t read this first day blog post!… well that or I missed the fact that I was mentioned in here!
    It truly was lovely meeting you, Sorcha… here’s hoping we’ll get together sometime soon?!
    XO

Leave a comment