Book Review ~ ‘The Consequence of Loving Colton’ by Rachel Van Dyken.

FINAL15

The Consequence of Loving Colton by Rachel Van Dyken.
(Consequence #1)
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance,
Release Date: April 21st 2015.

23381448


FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

My name is Milo Caro and I have a confession to make.

I’ve been in love with Colton Mathews since I was five. He should have known that sharing a cookie with a sugar obsessed little monster would do the trick–it sealed his fate. So really, the fact that he’s sporting a black eye, a limp, almost got ran over by a car, and was nearly responsible for another person’s death? Right. HIs fault. Not mine.

I made a pact with myself–this weekend would be different. I’d come home for my brothers wedding, smile, and Colton would naturally melt into my arms, we’d get married have five kids, live in a house by the river, and get a dog named scratch (clearly I’ve thought this through).

What really happened? I punched my brother in the face, Colton kissed me and apologized, I lied about having a boyfriend, oh and everyone wants to meet the mystery man.

They say laughter always comes before insanity–ha, ha. All I wanted was my brother’s best friend…instead I’m sitting in prison.

Let this be a lesson to you all…life rarely happens the way you want it to.

Damn cookie.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47


FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘The Consequence of Loving Colton’ by Rachel Van Dyken ~ 4 Stars!

If you are looking for a book that will have you doubled over with laughter, and then within the space of a paragraph, doubled over with laughter again for a completely different reason, then this is definitely one for you. The perfect feel-good romp with a sexy hero, hilarious secondary characters, and a mind boggling heroine who you just can’t help but root for.

Milo’s infatuation with Colton is one that has lasted for as long as she can remember. Alongside her brother, Colton is the one that has always been there, for every embarrassing incident, every pretend game, and every kiss. But, after feeling rejected one too many times by Colton, for being merely his best friend’s little sister, she tries to move on going to uni and meeting her best friend Max. When she returns home for her brother’s wedding, shenanigans ensue, and between Milo’s clumsiness, Max’s flair for amateur dramatics and a whole lot of misunderstandings, it becomes a test to see who will live to see the dawning of a new week.

Colton was such a great hero. Hopelessly in love with Milo, his every attempt at showing it seems to result in him apologising, which being the hopeless guy he is, doesn’t realise is not the best thing to say to a girl after you kiss them. With the help of Max, and his best friend, he makes it his mission to win Milo over.

There were some great characters, and a really fun family atmosphere throughout this story that made it so much fun to read. However, my one issue with parts of the story is the way that Max and his brother discuss being taken advantage of by women. When reading it, I knew that it was not in any way the author’s intention to make rape or sexual assault any less of a serious issue than it is, but that in an attempt to add humour the seriousness of male rape/assault wasn’t as sensitively dealt with as I would have liked.

Nevertheless, this was a great read and my stomach muscles definitely got a work out with all the laughing I was doing.

4 stars.

*ARC kindly provided by the author through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review* 


FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~


FINAL8

~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Website ~


Leave a Reply

