Tour Stop ~ ‘The Reason I Stay’ by Patty Maximini.

TheReasonIStayTourBanner

FINAL13

The Reason I Stay by Patty Maximini
Publication date: September 10th 2014
Genres: New Adult, Romance
ReasonIStay
۞
FINAL3

 SYNOPSIS

Jack Daniels is the cure to all evils.

Sex should be casual and, preferably, anonymous.

Giving a damn is for nurses, philanthropists and suicide hotlines.

My name is Mathew Rogers and those are the values I built my adult life around. They are also the reason I had to forsake everything I loved in Seattle and embark on a solitary road trip across the country, with no direction other than searching for the next small town, the next girl, and the closest liquor store.

Boredom, frustration and a series of unfortunate decisions led me to the rickety-ass town of Jolene, Alabama—a town I wanted to leave behind from the moment I passed the welcome sign. But it was there where I met her. The girl who made me question everything I’ve always believed in, and the only one who has ever had the power to break my heart.

Her name is Lexie.

She’s beautiful, and I’m pretty sure she hates me.

And for once in my life, I give enough of a damn that I keep finding a reason to stay.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

۞

FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘The Reason I Stay’ by Patty Maximini ~ 5 Stars!

‘The Reason I Stay’ is the perfect feel-good romance for anyone who has grown up or still lives in a small town. Patty Maximini perfectly set the scene for this heartwarming book so that I felt so comfortable and at home in the small town of Jolene, that I was invested in the story even before we got to know the characters better, as they already felt like my neighbours.

Lexie was the perfect heroine, and she was just one of those characters that you root for from the start. I loved her kindness, her compassion and her protective nature to those close to her. The perfect mix of her hope to see the best in everyone and her spunkiness when she is being unfairly treated made her a well rounded and developed character that readers will easily relate to.

Lexie’s love for her home-town shone through Maximini’s words and I really adored having a heroine who was a home-girl and not escaping her past as is very common in this genre.

Now Matt was a pretty unique hero and having to warm to him from the beginning made me love him more later on in the book. I really like seeing characters change through love but it was particularly amazing to see in Matt’s case. To see him want to change and become a better person who feels guilt and feels the need to apologise and make up for his past was really emotional to read, and I loved how in the end he didn’t change for Lexie, he changed for himself. I loved seeing how the small town life affected Matt and helped him develop as a person he felt proud of.

His and Lexie’s relationship was so beautiful to read, and I loved the pacing of it, where we see the progress of their relationship for almost a year before the trigger and peak of the story.

Patty Maximini has a real talent with words and has created a heart-warming story of love, atonement and forgiveness that was stunning from start to finish,

5 stars!

 ۞

FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ B&N ~

۞

FINAL1

Patty
Patty Maximini

Hopeless dreamer, tattoo enthusiast, Disney addict and hoarder of nail polishes and vegan recipes. Patty lives with her husband, her crazy cat, two dogs and elderly bunny in a house frequently visited by wild birds and chipmunks.

 ۞

FINAL8

~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Website ~

 ۞

XpressoBannerTours

Blog Tour was organised by Xpresso Book Tours.
Click the banner above to follow ‘The Reason I Stay’ Blog Tour.

۞

2 thoughts on “Tour Stop ~ ‘The Reason I Stay’ by Patty Maximini.

  1. I’m from a tiny town and I love small town settings and the atmosphere of them in books. I also already like the sounds of Lexie she seems like a wonderful MC! Great review, Sorcha!

  2. Thank you so much for the awesome review! You just made my day. ❤

Leave a Reply

