Book Review ~ ‘Shameless’ by Nina Lemay.

FINAL15

Shameless by Nina Lemay.
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance.
Publication Date: August 18th 2014.

Shameless by Nina Lemay

 ۞

FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

~New Adult Contemporary Romance — recommended for mature readers~

Girls like me don’t get happy endings.

I know what I am. At worst a cliché, at best a cautionary tale. I put an international border between me and my past, only to wind up working in a low-end titty bar. Even my excuse is as lame as it gets: I’m paying for college, getting my art degree from Montreal’s most prestigious school. Although some days it becomes confusing: am I just a student who moonlights as a stripper, or a stripper who masquerades as a student?

But the inevitable happens and my two lives collide. And now there’s one other person who knows both the quiet, antisocial Hannah and the sensual, shameless Alicia. One person who keeps my secret.

He’s beautiful, he’s sophisticated. He comes from the other side of life, the one where I’m not wanted or accepted. But he calls me la petite Américaine, and his hot, hot hands on my skin promise me things I long ago gave up on.

The problem? He teaches my Classic Photography class.

This is a standalone novel, no series, no cliffhanger.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

 ۞

FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘Shameless’ by Nina Lemay ~ 5 Stars!

I’d been in a bit of a book funk with some of the books that I had been reading before I picked up ‘Shameless’, and was in desperate need of a story that would excite and intrigue me, so I was more than relieved when I started ‘Shameless’ and was immediately dragged into the unique storyline and felt connections forming with the exceptionally well-rounded characters.

I absolutely adored Hannah as the heroine for this book because she was fiesty, independent and strong, whilst also holding a heart-wrenching fear brought about by regrets of her past experiences. It was such a breath of fresh air to see a young girl as a heroine regretting her first sexual encounter in such a way that it affects the way she develops her relationship with men that she is attracted to. I always find that young characters grow up so quickly in new adult books so it was wonderful to see Hannah missing the innocence she felt she used to have.

Throughout the book I really connected with Hannah as a person as opposed to her as a character in a story and I rooted for her from the word go, even when I didn’t agree with her actions and decisions and just wanted her to let go of her pain and need for independence and let herself be happy.

I adored the storyline that Nina Lemay created in this novel, and it was one that I was really swept away by. The mix of great characters, perfect pacing, and the wonderful way that the world of photography and art weaves throughout the main storyline made this book really stunning. I loved Emmanuel and the ways that he taught Hannah about, not just the field of photography, but about finding herself and expressing herself through her art, which was just beautiful to read, and I loved him as a hero. It was a unique experience for me to not immediately fall for the hero in a story, as we are introduced to Emmanuel in circumstances that make you frown at his credibility, but I loved that I had to warm toward him throughout this novel, grow to love him and become certain in his good nature alongside Hannah’s discovery of him. This really helped me understand her feelings and emotions when it came to her starting a relationship with him, and I loved the slow-burn of their romance even more for it.

This was a stunning, heartbreaking and romantic read which I recommend to all lovers of the New Adult genre. The added mix of a forbidden romance, and sacrifices made in order to save the person you love made this book a real winner.

5 Stars!

۞

FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ B&N ~

 ۞

FINAL8

Nina Lemay

~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Website ~

 ۞

XpressoBannerTours

Review Copy was kindly provided by the author through Xpresso Book Tours Review Opportunities in exchange for an honest review.

 ۞

Leave a Reply

