Book Review ~ ‘Trial by Fire’ by Josephine Angelini

FINAL15

Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini
The Worldwalker Trilogy #1
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Release Date: 28th August 2014.

Trial by Fire (Worldwalker #1) by Josephine Angelini

۞

FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

The exhilaratingly seductive new series from the author of the bestselling Starcrossed series

Love burns. Worlds collide. Magic reigns.

This world is trying to kill Lily Proctor. Her life-threatening allergies keep her from enjoying many of the experiences that other teenagers take for granted…which is why she is determined to enjoy her first (and perhaps only) high-school party. But Lily’s life never goes according to plan, and after a humiliating incident in front of half her graduating class Lily wishes she could just disappear.

Suddenly Lily is in a different Salem – one overrun with horrifying creatures and ruled by powerful women called Crucibles. Strongest and cruellest of all the Crucibles is Lillian . . . Lily’s identical other self in this alternate universe. This new version of her world is terrifyingly sensual, and Lily is soon overwhelmed by new experiences.

Lily realizes that what makes her weak at home is exactly what makes her extraordinary in New Salem. It also puts her life in danger. Thrown into a world she doesn’t understand, Lily is torn between responsibilities she can’t hope to shoulder alone, and a love she never expected.

But how can Lily be the saviour of this world when she is literally her own worst enemy?

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

۞

FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘Trial by Fire’ by Josephine Angelini ~ 5+ Stars!

Well Wow, Wow and WOW!

I’m not ashamed to admit that what drew me to this book was originally the cover, because honestly the cover is so gorgeous it deserves all the credit it gets, but I also connected straight away to the synopsis. I’ve had a bit of a lull with books in the fantasy genre recently, finding a lot of them to be predictable and all too often just the same story written in different words. I can’t even express how ecstatic I was when I started reading this book, because I knew straight away that this story was going to be very different.

Josephine Angelini has created a stunning and incredibly moving story which has taken a special place in my heart. I couldn’t even write this review immediately after finishing it because I just couldn’t find the words to express what it was about this book that I loved so much. There was so much about it that spoke to me, and it has a message running throughout that is so powerful and poignant.

One of the things that made this book such a winner for me, was the absolutely fantastic characters. They didn’t feel like fictional beings at all to me, as the author did such an incredible job at giving them so many layers and dimensions that you could see the hopes, fears, good and bad in all of them which made them so real to me as a reader. It made me connect so much to the story that when I put my kindle down, it would take a minute for me to return to reality. In my opinion this is the sign of a really powerful author. Lily was also such a unique heroine, and I loved her for her strength, but also her despair, as it reminded me that before she was anything else, she was human with human emotions which can easily overwhelm you. Her slow-burning relationship with Rowan was something that I was so invested in, and I was so in tune with them that I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see how their story would progress.

Even Lillian, the nemesis of this book is more than just that. Even after all the things she had done I still felt for her, and really could understand where she was coming from when it came to her persecution of scientists. She was conflicted, was a real emotional being and really did believe that what she was doing was the only way to save those she loved, and I have no doubt of the love she had for her sister, Rowan and even in some ways, Lily.

The world that Josephine Angelini created in ‘Trial by Fire’ was so clever. It constantly went around in my mind the differences between reality and the new Salem that Lily was trapped in. In some ways it was almost a poignant message that things could have so easily been different in our world’s history. Where Witches were persecuted in history due to fear of their powers and science has taken over our world, it was so exciting to read of a world where scientists were persecuted by witches because of the fear of what Science can do to the world. Absolutely brilliant.

I don’t want to spoil any of the story for potential readers because it really is something that you have to experience yourself, but this is by far one of the best books I have read this year in this genre, and after that cliffhanger I am already goodreads stalking the author in the hope of any teasers for the next book in the series!

5+ Stars!

*Review copy was provided by the Publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

۞

FINAL6

Available to Pre-Order

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~

۞

FINAL8

Josephine Angelini

~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Website ~

۞

One thought on “Book Review ~ ‘Trial by Fire’ by Josephine Angelini

  1. […] Book Review ~ ‘Trial by Fire’ by Josephine Angelini […]

Leave a Reply

