Book Review ~ ‘This is Falling’ by Ginger Scott.

FINAL15

This is Falling by Ginger Scott
(Falling #1)
Genres: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Release Date: 29th August 2014.

This is Falling (Falling #1) by Ginger Scott

۞

FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

First, I had to remember how to breathe. Then, I had to learn how to survive. Two years, three months and sixteen days had passed since I was the Rowe Stanton from before, since tragedy stole my youth and my heart went along with it.

When I left for college, I put a thousand miles between my future and my past. I’d made a choice—I was going to cross back to the other side, to live with the living. I just didn’t know how.

And then I met Nate Preeter.

An All-American baseball player, Nate wasn’t supposed to notice a ghost-of-a-girl like me. But he did. He shouldn’t want to know my name. But he did. And when he learned my secret and saw the scars it left behind, he was supposed to run. But he didn’t.

My heart was dead, and I was never supposed to belong to anyone. But Nate Preeter had me feeling, and he made me want to be his. He showed me everything I was missing.

And then he showed me how to fall.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

۞

FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘This is Falling’ by Ginger Scott ~ 5 Stars!

After finishing ‘How We Deal With Gravity’ by Ginger Scott, I just had to get my hands on another book by this fantastic author. From reading the synopsis, I had a feeling that this was going to be another very special story, and my god it was.

To see the amount of thought and heart that goes into these characters is something that makes them so much more relatable to me as a reader. Having been to University myself and struggled to find my feet, I really connected to Rowe and her fears of fitting in and making friends, as well as her desire to keep to herself. All too often books set in college seem to have girls leaving home and suddenly finding their niche, but I loved that Ginger Scott went for a different approach and depicted Rowe as a teenager who didn’t feel comfortable going out to parties, and felt slightly intimidated by sharing a room with girls who seem far more confident than her.

Anddd, Nate. Oh Nate, how I love you! What a beautiful, beautiful book boyfriend. I loved having his point of view alternating with Rowe as it really showed just how in tune he was with how she was feeling in her chapters. I loved that he was so sensitive to her emotions and that he would do anything to make her happy, including sleeping in a pink room with Barbie blankets (honestly, I can’t remember the last time I ever laughed so much!) The prank wars between Rowe and Nate were hilarious and I loved that their relationship started off as them being close friends, despite their stronger feelings for each other, because it made the scenes between them later seem that much more lovely as they could joke and laugh with each other in between their romantic scenes. These prank scenes also showed another side to Rowe, one that had disappeared after her traumatic past, and made me all that more invested in her and Nate’s relationship as I could see just how much he brought her out of her shell and made her live again rather than just exist.

Rowe’s past storyline was one that had me in tears, and my heart just breaking for her and those she left at home. I could really sympathise with her despair at moving on, and her guilt for her feelings for Nate, especially when we find out that her boyfriend Josh is not actually technically her ex. I could feel her confusion seeping off the page, and it was something that Ginger Scott pulled off so well that I commend her for creating such a well-developed character with so many layers.

The pacing of this novel was spot-on and I never once felt that Nate and Rowe’s relationship was moving too fast or too slow, as their trust in each other grew at such a realistic level that I felt happy when their relationship finally moved forward.

The secondary characters were again so brilliantly developed, and I absolutely adored how Ginger Scott broke tradition and had one of the secondary characters being wheel-chair bound. I loved Ty and especially how confident he is despite being confined in a wheel-chair. It was inspirational to see how he refused to be held back by his disability, one that he wasn’t born with but acquired in the prime of his teenage life. The strong relationship he had with his brother Nate was just so much fun to read, and I can’t wait to read Ty’s story next, and to see more of the development of his relationship with Cass.

This was a beautifully written and heart-warming novel which shows the strength and pain in moving on from the past, and remembering the good times with a fond smile, rather than letting the pain of the bad times overtake.

5 Stars!

*Review copy was provided by the author through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

 

۞

FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ B&N ~

۞

FINAL1

Ginger Scott

~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Website ~

۞

Leave a Reply

