Book Review ~ ‘The First Time We Met’ by Pippa Croft.

 

FINAL15

The First Time We Met by Pippa Croft
Oxford Blue #1
Genres: Romance, Women’s Fiction, Contemporary

The First Time We Met (Oxford Blues #1) by Pippa Croft

 

۞

FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

The First Time We Met is the first novel in the sizzling new Oxford Blue romance series from Pippa Croft.

Senator’s daughter Lauren Cusack is leaving Washington behind for the dreaming spires of Oxford University – and she’s ready for a challenge. Now a fully-fledged Master’s student, Lauren is determined to make the most of every single minute.

But then she meets Alexander Hunt, and everything changes.

A devastatingly handsome English aristocrat, Alexander is as brooding and enigmatic as they come. Lauren tries to resist his advances, but he has his sights clearly set on the young American, and what Alexander wants, he gets.

Caution soon gives way to mind-blowing passion and Lauren is drawn into Alexander’s privileged world of glamour and status. But all that glitters is not gold – for Alexander is a man with a dark past, and desire may not be enough to conquer all else . . .

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

۞

FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘The First Time We Met’ by Pippa Croft ~ 5 Stars!

I was really excited at the prospect of reading ‘The First Time We Met’ as being a Brit, there aren’t all that many books set in England in this genre, and as much as I’ve loved all the American books I’ve read, I did feel sometimes that I had trouble relating to them because they were all set in the States. ‘The First Time We Met’ took me on a journey in my favourite British City ‘Oxford’, and my god was this a great journey, one that has made me laugh and cry, and I know will continue to niggle at me until I read the next books in the series.

Lauren was a brilliant heroine, and a character that I feel a lot of young people will relate to, especially when it comes to making choices about their future. I really liked the approach she had towards her life, and in particular her relationship with Alexander, as she made it clear that despite her strong feelings for him, she wasn’t looking too far into the future when it came to their relationship, instead just taking it a day at a time. All too often I read New Adult and even Adult books where the heroine falls in love with the hero within a month and is hoping for a proposal or planning a wedding. As lovely as this is, I instead felt a really strong kinship with Lauren who instead thought like a young girl who had her whole life in front of her, a life that she wanted to make for herself.

Now Alexander. *sighs* He is well on the way to becoming a favourite book boyfriend of mine, and the last page of this book, as well as the great character development he made throughout this first book in the series, definitely had me rooting for him. I loved the dark and mysterious persona that he has, which he tries to hide from those he cares about, and I really liked how in the end his issues with his family and his past that he was so desperately trying to ignore, were in fact the things that started to come between him and Lauren. The psychological undertones that began in this novel are one of the things that have really intrigued me and have me waiting on tenterhooks to read the next book in the series.

The storyline was a beautiful one, and the writing style is something that is both easy to read, and packed with meaning and heart. Although the last chapter broke my heart, I felt really pleased with the road that the author took with these characters, and I am excited to see how the ending of this book will impact Lauren and Alexander in the next book, and to help them grow stronger as both individuals and perhaps as a couple.

5 Stars to this brilliant first book in the series, and I can definitely say I will be devouring the next books in the series as soon as they become available.

* Review Copy was provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

۞

FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~

۞

FINAL8

Pippa Croft

~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Website ~

۞

2 thoughts on “Book Review ~ ‘The First Time We Met’ by Pippa Croft.

  1. Hello,
    I help run a promoting authors blog. We have a Blog Hosting program for bloggers to sign up to be a part of sharing about authors and their books. We offer blog/book tours, giveaways, book blast, cover and trailer reveals, Kindle Countdown Parties, interviews and book reviews; those are just a few things we offer to authors. If you become a blog host with us, you’ll get the chance to post great stuff to share with your readers. Pulse, free books to review. If you want to be a part of our Blog Hosting program please follow this link. http://doubledeckerbooks.blogspot.com/p/blog-page_2431.html
    We hope we get the chance to work with you. Thanks, Double Decker Books

  2. Thank you SO much for taking the time to review my book. I’m so glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

