Book Review ~ ‘The Lost Love of a Soldier’ by Jane Lark.

FINAL15

The Lost Love of a Soldier by Jane Lark
Marlow Intrigues #0.5
Genres: Historical, Romance, Adult
Release Date: 10th July 2014.

The Lost Love of a Soldier by Jane Lark

۞

FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

The stunning prequel to Kindle bestseller The Illicit Love of a Courtesan!

Life is for grasping and living…

Naïve and innocent, Lady Ellen Pembroke falls for a dashing young army officer. Captain Paul Harding has such an easy, enchanting smile and his blue eyes glow; vibrancy and warmth emanating from him. She is in love.

In turn, the Captain finds his attention captured by the beautiful young daughter of the Duke of Pembroke at a house party in the summer. Finding Ellen is like finding treasure on the battle field. His sanity clings to her – something beautiful to remind him that not all in the world is ugly.

Ellen is someone to fight for and someone to survive for when he is inevitably called to arms in the battle of Waterloo…

 goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

۞

 FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘The Lost Love of a Soldier’ by Jane Lark ~ 5 Stars!

I knew from the word go that this was going to be a very emotional read. I even prepared by having a box of tissues next to me as I started, as there seemed to be no doubt that I’d be in tears by the end of it. Having read ‘The Illicit Love of a Courtesan’ and knowing that this story was the prequel, I knew straight away what the outcome would be, but it did nothing to lessen the emotional blow, and the streams of tears that this beautifully heartbreaking story put me through.

I was so excited to see Paul and Ellen’s story, especially to see how it differed from the relationship between Ellen and Edward in the first book of the series. I worried that this might taint my perspective of Paul slightly, but thankfully it didn’t, as Jane Lark so wonderfully created his character, one that was so different to Edward, that there couldn’t have even been a competition.

Jane Lark writes so beautifully throughout this series, and I was awed when I read this book to see how diverse her writing style is. She wrote the illicit, sensual and true love of Ellen and Edward so well that I rooted for them as a couple, and also wrote the thrill, fear, nerves and courtly love that comes with a first love so wonderfully. It was so clear as I was reading that there are so many different types of love between a man and woman, but that neither is less than the other, only different. The way in which she wrote this story really gave me insight into this, and I fell for Paul and Ellen just as hard as I had for Ellen and Edward, and intrigued to see how marriage to a soldier differed in terms of romantic elements in their everyday life.

I loved the pacing of this story, especially the quick start where I found myself eagerly reading late into the night, my heart pounding as the couple attempt to outrun Ellen’s father to Gretna Green. Even though I knew what would happen, it didn’t stop the excitement and fear that coursed through me as I waited on tenterhooks for them to reach the town.

The historical aspects of this novel, especially those of the Battle of Waterloo, were exceptionally written, they were described in a clear way, not as an information dump, but as part of the story, which had me living Ellen’s story rather than reading it. My heart broke for Ellen as the story came to a close, and there were so many characters that I wanted to kill with my own hands for the advantage they took of such an innocent woman who was in shock and mourning.

This was a superb prequel to the ‘Marlow Intrigues’ Series that really packs a punch. Trust me, you’ll need your own box of tissues for this.

*Review Copy was provided by the author through Candlelit Author Services in exchange for an honest review*

۞

 FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ B&N ~

۞

 FINAL8

 Jane

Jane Lark

~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Website ~

۞

Leave a Reply

