Book Review ~ ‘You Make Me’ by Erin McCarthy.

FINAL15

You Make Me by Erin McCarthy
Blurred Lines #1
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance

YouMakeMe

۞

FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

The guy she wants…

Growing up on the coast of Maine with a revolving door of foster siblings, Caitlyn Michaud spent one intense and passionate year falling in love with her foster brother, Heath. Then he left without a word. The betrayal devastated Caitlyn and made her vow to forget the compelling bad boy. But forgetting his sensual touch and their deep all-consuming friendship is easier said than done.

Isn’t the guy she needs…

Determined to move on, in college Caitlyn has risen above her small town impoverished roots and has joined a sorority, reinvented her appearance, and landed the right boyfriend. Pre-law major and frat president, Ethan, is thoughtful and always laughing, and he makes her feel happy, calm. He also gives her the social acceptance she craves.

But the perfect world she tried so hard to attain is ripped apart when Heath appears one night out of nowhere. Caitlyn remembers all the reasons why she loves him, even if they don’t make sense to anyone but her. Out of the military, Heath is as brooding and intense as ever, and he is determined not only to win her back, but to exact revenge on everyone who kept him from her…

And when one love allows her to breathe, but the other feels as essential to her life as air, how does she choose between them?

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

۞

FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘You Make Me’ by Erin McCarthy ~ 5 Stars!

From the word go, I connected with this book on such a deep level that I was so engrossed in the story and so connected to the characters that my heart was aching and my mind whirring away. From the beginning I felt that this story was reminiscent of a modern day ‘Wuthering Heights’ with our heroine Caitlyn (or Cat) torn between two men, one her childhood love who consumes every part of her, and is the air she breathes, and the other the man she has grown to love through his stability, trust and devotion, and how he sees her as yearns to become.
So before I start this review I’m just going to quote this passage from my favourite book ‘Wuthering Heights’ as I really feel that this sums up the relationship between Cat, Heath and Ethan far better than I could, so I’ll let Emily Bronte do the work.

“If all else perished, and he remained, I should still continue to be; and if all else remained, and he were annihilated, the universe would turn to a mighty stranger: I should not seem a part of it.—My love for Linton is like the foliage in the woods: time will change it, I’m well aware, as winter changes the trees. My love for Heathcliff resembles the eternal rocks beneath: a source of little visible delight, but necessary. Nelly, I am Heathcliff! He’s always, always in my mind: not as a pleasure, any more than I am always a pleasure to myself, but as my own being.”

So from this, I think it was fair to say that I was ‘Team Heath’ from the start. The way that the author started this book was just clever with how it sucked me in. If she had started the story set in the present day, I would not have felt the impact of Heath’s reappearance as strongly as I did having read the short prologue. It broke my heart, it had me aching in just a few short paragraphs, and had me so invested in finding out what went wrong between Cat and Heath that I just had to keep reading.

What I liked about this book is that I didn’t have any ill-feeling towards Ethan as I usually do towards the ‘other’ person in the love triangle, but in this sense it really didn’t feel like a traditional love triangle. I didn’t feel that Cat was being unfair to either man, and the only time I felt angry with Ethan was when he began to give her ultimatums despite her having reassured him without them that she was choosing him.
Heath was the brooding bad-boy that had me enraptured from the start. Although I liked Ethan, I just knew that Heath and Cat were meant to be, and that for all of Ethan’s virtues, he couldn’t reconcile himself with the real Cat that emerged after Heath reappeared. I really wanted Cat to be loved for the person she was, and not for the person that Ethan thought she was, so I really held out hope that Heath would fight for Cat.

Erin McCarthy had a beautiful writing style throughout this book which tore at me and really drew me into the story. I loved the connection to Cat’s home that was entwined beautifully throughout, and I also loved the emphasis on the development of Cat’s character, rather than on the development of her relationships with Heath and Ethan. The way that the strong family morals were included was just perfect and really brought home the beautiful relationship that Heath and Cat forged through their desire to have their own family who loved them.
If you love deep meaning, and beautifully written love stories that are wonderfully character-driven then this is definitely the book for you.

5 Stars!

۞

FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ B&N ~

۞

FINAL8

~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Website ~

۞

XpressoBannerTours

* Review copy was kindly provided by the author through Xpresso Book Tours Review Opportunities in exchange for an honest review*

۞

Leave a Reply

