Book Review ~ ‘Love, Lex’ by Avery Aster.

FINAL15

Love, Lex by Avery Aster
(The Undergrad Years #1)
Publication date: April 14th 2014
Genres: New Adult, Romance.

Love, Lex by Avery Aster

۞

FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

This summer, I’d planned to celebrate my eighteenth birthday in Europe with my fellow Manhattanites—Taddy Brill, Blake Morgan, and Vive Farnworth—until I caught my boyfriend screwing my mother. According to the police report, this vomit-inducing incident happened around the same time I’d supposedly blown-up my mother’s penthouse. Like I’m walking around Soho with a stick of dynamite in my Louis Vuitton purse—not! Now, my besties and I are in jail.

Officer Ford Gotti, the Harley-wheelin’ biker cop who arrested us, keeps sticking his perfectly-sculpted nose into my case. His inked body is jacked like a superhero, and he says I can trust him. He wants me to fess up. I won’t. Not again. Why should I? My friends and I had a previous stint in juvie that nearly destroyed us. I gotta protect them and keep my mouth shut. Right? —Lex Easton, women’s studies major, motorcycle enthusiast, and virgin.

The Undergrad Years is a New Adult contemporary miniseries about first loves, independence, and everlasting friendships.

Reader warning: Contains mature content intended for readers 17 and up.

Swag and reader contests can be found on Avery’s blog at: AveryAster.com

Interact with Avery while reading this story on Instagram and Twitter @AveryAster using the hashtags #UndergradYears #NewAdult

 goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

۞

 FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘Love, Lex’ by Avery Aster ~ 4 Stars!

I can honestly say it’s been a long time since I’ve last laughed so hard whilst reading a book. The last time was with ‘It’s Got to be Perfect’ by Haley Hill (which you should go and read right now). Avery Aster drew me into the story with her clever and witty writing and hilarious characters who you feel like are your own best friends by the end of the book.

If you are looking for an angsty new adult read, then this isn’t for you, but if you just want to sit down with a good, funny book for a few hours and are in need of a good laugh, then this is definitely a book I’d recommend.

Lex was honestly the most bonkers heroine I’ve read of in a while, but even with her craziness I connected with her straight away, and after reading that her boyfriend told her she’d have to lose some weight before he would sleep with her, and her trying her hardest by chewing nicotine gum like it was going out of business was what made me really feel for her, and want the best for her. But the best thing about her was that she didn’t want sympathy or pity, she told the readers how she felt without putting on any masks, and then moved on.

The storyline of her being arrested for arson was done in such a brilliant funny way, especially when the story was told to us from Lex’s viewpoint, complete with hilarious acronyms for her best friends (BFF, GFF, GBF, I’ll let you read to find out what the last two stand for) and her complicated relationship with her famous rocker mother (You’ll see what I mean within the first few pages), it really was a light escape to read about. Of course no story is complete without a sexy male, and Officer Gotti fit that role perfectly.

This was a crazy story which made me laugh out loud throughout. The main characters were a new definition of crazy, but the fact that they stood by each other in times of crisis helped make the story a little more relatable to the reader and show the seriousness of their situation despite the way they try to cover their feelings with humour and sarcasm.

This book was clever, witty, bonkers and just such good fun. If you don’t mind a little over-the-top drama, and some crazy characters, but ones that you really connect with, then this story is the one for you.

4 Stars!

۞

 FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ B&N ~

۞

FINAL8

Avery Aster

~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Website ~

۞

XpressoBannerTours

*Review copy was kindly provided by the author through Xpresso Book Tours Review Opportunities in exchange for an honest review.*

۞

One thought on “Book Review ~ ‘Love, Lex’ by Avery Aster.

  1. Avery Aster says:

    Thank you Sorcha!

    I’m glad you enjoyed it. I hope you’ll read YOURS TRULY, TADDY.

    xo,
    Avery

Leave a Reply

