Book Review ~ ‘All My Restless Life to Live’ by Dee DeTarsio.

FINAL15

All My Restless Life to Live by Dee DeTarsio.
Publication date: April 29th 2013
Genres: Adult, Romance.

AllMyRestlessLifetoLive

۞

FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

Fans of Marian Keyes and Jennifer Weiner will delight in Dee DeTarsio’s sparkling prose and lively dialogue as she takes readers into the heart of women’s lives.

Life is a soap opera, especially for Elle Miller, who writes for one. (Ellen dropped the “n” in her name in hopes of finding a better ending for herself.) When her laptop crashes, she borrows her recently deceased dad’s computer and gets way more than she bargained for.

Elle unravels mysterious communications from his computer, while her mom decides to give Internet dating a try. As Elle tries to save her career at I’d Rather Be Loved with a storyline featuring a trip through Atlantis, she takes a trip to the Emmys, and finds herself in the middle of a romance between a real doctor and a hunk who just plays one on TV.

Friends, family, and clues from “the other side” all help Elle figure out the difference between living the good life and living a good life.

Filled with friendship, love, loss, betrayal, and challenges that force her characters to find their place in the universe, Dee’s novels give us that hopefully-ever-after we’re searching for.

Dee DeTarsio is a Winner of The 2013 San Diego Book Awards, Romance category, for Haole Wood, as well as a 2013 Next Generation Indie Awards Finalist.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

۞

FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘All My Restless Life to Live’ by Dee DeTarsio ~ 4 Stars!

I had read a few excerpts courtesy of a book blitz I participated in, and they had me laughing, and intrigued by the characters so I went for it, and boy am I glad I did.

‘All My Restless Life to Live’ is a story that I think all contemporary chick lit readers will love. There was so much relatable humour, characters and actions that I just connected with the story so easily. I loved that there was seriousness and challenges entwined throughout the witty prose, and that by the end of the story I was thinking of the characters as real people that I knew, wanting to talk to them about their problems and how to help them in situations they were afraid of (In my defence, it’s the Psychology graduate in me.)

What made this book really stand out to me was that at some points in the story, I really wanted to shake the characters. Why is it good I felt this, you may ask? Because it made the characters human who make mistakes, just like everybody in life. Whilst it was veiled in humour, it was still poignant to readers that there are problems in everybody’s life, and that everyone has issues to work through.

Elle was a really brilliant heroine to our story. She was gutsy, witty and her thoughts had me in fits of giggles more than once, although sometimes I felt her internal dialogue digressed a lot from her original point before she went back to it, leaving me a little behind and speeding to catch up with her.

I really felt for Elle when it came to trying to accept and move on after her father’s death, and the spiritual element of her believing her father was contacting her beyond the grave was really cleverly entwined throughout the story, not dominating the novel, but linking neatly with the various other complications that come up in Elle’s life.

I was so pleased that I liked both of Elle’s love interests. Unfortunately I am one of those people who sets their hopes on the heroine being with one guy over the other, and then I become stressed, emotional, devastated and heartbroken if they don’t end up together. Dee DeTarsio did a spectacular job of making both romantic interests suitable candidates, and both were genuinely nice men who respected her and didn’t try to force her to choose them. I liked how the story ended, and the man that she chose, but I felt relieved that Elle and the rejected suitor could still be friends, as I thought they had a friendship that would be sad to go.

This really was a clever, witty and poignant story, that made me laugh out loud, smile wistfully, and muse over long after I finished.

4 Stars!

۞

FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ B&N ~

۞

FINAL8

~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Website ~

۞

XpressoBannerTours

Review copy kindly provided by the author through Xpresso Book Tours Review Opportunities in exchange for an honest review.

۞

3 thoughts on “Book Review ~ ‘All My Restless Life to Live’ by Dee DeTarsio.

  1. deedetarsio says:

    Dear Sorcha! You totally made my day! Thank you so much for not only reading All My Restless Life to Live, but for your thoughtful, and beautiful review! Yay!! Thank you!

  2. deedetarsio says:

    Reblogged this on Dee DeTarsio, author and commented:
    An amazingly awesome review from Sorcha at the Old Victorian Quill:

Leave a Reply

