Book Review ~ ‘I Found You’ by Jane Lark.

FINAL15

I Found You by Jane Lark
Published by: Harper Impulse
Publication date: December 5th 2013
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

I Found You by Jane Lark


FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

Tomorrow is for regrets. Tonight is for being together.

On a cold winter night, Rachel and Jason’s lives collide on Manhattan Bridge. She’s running from life, he’s running toward it. But compassion urges him to help her.

His offer of a place to stay leads to friendship and trouble. There’s his fiancée back home in Oregon and a family who just don’t trust this girl from the wrong side of the tracks.

But when the connection between them is so electric, so right… everyone else must be wrong. And as the snow begins to settle on the Hudson, there’s nothing but the possibility of what could be – of this, right here, right now. Them.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47


FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘I Found You’ by Jane Lark ~ 5 Stars!

Sometimes it takes a while to put together your thoughts enough to write a book review. This is by no means a bad thing, as is proved by Jane Lark’s beautiful story ‘I Found You.’ I was gobsmacked, by its intensity, by its beautiful characters, and the extraordinary, and heart-warming message that underlined the whole story, that if you love someone enough, you will do anything to keep them.

Rachel and Jason’s story was one that will stay with me for years to come. I loved starting the story reading from Jason’s point of view, and I really connected with the way that his thought processes and characterisations were so very male. It’s a difficult task for female authors to write realistic thoughts and actions of male characters, and Jane Lark did it with real skill. The way in which she wrote Jason and Rachel’s characters was in such a brutally honest way, that I could feel the emotion seeping from the pages. I liked that Rachel and Jason were everything to each other, and made no apologies or excuses for the way that they were together. I especially loved the vulnerability that Rachel allows herself to show as her relationship with Jason becomes closer. It was one of the most beautiful progressions of character-development I have ever read, and I felt so close to her as a person, and held out hope that everything would end well for her.

The story development in ‘I Found You’ was absolutely beautiful to witness. I really liked how Rachel and Jason became very close friends first, before acting out on their attraction to each other. I admired Rachel for the restraint she showed before their friendship became romantic, and laughed at her inner thoughts when she had to remind herself that Jason had a girlfriend, Lindsay.

I really liked how Lindsay’s character played out. I felt weary of her from the start, particularly due to her cynical reaction to Rachel when Jason tells her that he took Rachel home to keep her from jumping to her death. I found her worry understandable, but felt insulted on Rachel’s behalf, and on the behalf of the many people out there contemplating ending their life, when she insists that Rachel was taking advantage of his kindness. As her story unfolds, she became the character I loved to hate, and I was so happy to see her become a victim of her own selfishness, her efforts to hurt Jason eventually turning around to show she herself was in the wrong.

To see kind people like Jason, who would give up so much to help someone who was at such a low point in their life, was heart-warming and had me tearing up a little. His faith in Rachel, and how he refused to give up on the girl who needed him, despite his girlfriend and family insisting he did, made me feel hope for humanity. His protective nature over Rachel when they visit his family, and his assurance to her that he will not give her up no matter what his parents think, was beautiful to witness, and I prayed that they could fight through these battles and come out stronger as a couple.

The story that unfolds is a beautiful one, and every word was written to perfection. I was in the edge of my seat as Rachel’s past comes back to haunt her, and Jason struggles with the responsibility of becoming an adult. It is a relationship that mesmerised me with its beauty and I’m sure will touch the hearts of many readers out there.

5 Stars and a definite recommended read.


FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~


FINAL8

~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Website ~


XpressoBannerTours

Review copy was kindly provided by the author through Xpresso Book Tours Review Opportunities in exchange for an honest review.


5 thoughts on “Book Review ~ ‘I Found You’ by Jane Lark.

  1. janelark says:

    Thank you for such a fabulous review Sorcha, you made me cry when you reviewed The Illicit Love of a Courtesan, and you have done it again! 😀 It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed it so much, and that coming from another author! Thank you

    Jane

  2. […] Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ B&N ~ To see my review for ‘I Found You’ click here  Pre-Order ‘Just You’ ~ Amazon UK ~ ۞   Jane Lark Jane is a writer of […]

  3. […] Book Review ~ ‘I Found You’ by Jane Lark. (oldvictorianquill.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

