Blog Stop ~ ‘Rumor Has It’ by Elisabeth Grace.

RumorHasItTourBanner

 FINAL13
Rumor Has It by Elisabeth Grace
(Limelight #1)
Publication date: December 6, 2013
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Rumor Has It Elisabeth Grace-ebooksm2

FINAL3
SYNOPSIS

All publicity is good publicity, right? Unless you’re recent college grad Ellie Wagner and an embarrassing video of you and your boyfriend goes viral. Every man in your life abandons you, but who knew a one-minute clip of your latest doomed relationship would brand you a slut, prevent you from getting your perfect job, and force you to keep doing the one thing you swore you’d never do again…live with your mother.But staying with mom and her latest boy-toy (is this husband number four or five?) until your life turns around might not be all bad. Especially when you fall – literally – at the feet of a sexy, green-eyed stranger who offers you freedom and a life of luxury on a gold-rimmed platter.

There’s only one little problem – the man of your dreams is none other than Mason Nash, the latest hip-hop star busting up the music charts. Fame and fortune are his calling cards and he’s vying to steal the show on a new reality TV series that will catapult him into mainstream stardom. Hello spotlight.

The man behind the famous persona is perfect for Ellie in every way, but can she overcome the ugly pitfalls that come with Mason’s celebrity status? Or will she be forced to choose between the man she loves and the independent life she longs for? After all, fame and fortune aren’t always what they seem and not all publicity is good publicity…

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47


FINAL6

FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘Rumor Has It’ by Elisabeth Grace ~ 5 Stars!

I was shocked whilst reading Rumor Has It to discover that this was Elisabeth Grace’s debut, it was just so well put together, so well paced, the characters so well developed that I was sure this was a very experienced writer. The use of simple yet powerful prose made this read an absolutely wonderful one, and I feel so privileged to have received this book as part of the ‘Rumor Has It’ blog tour.

This was a very different style of New Adult, which was so refreshing to read. The plot of rich famous popstar falls for girl next door in itself is one that has been written before, but the way that Elisabeth Grace approached this story was so brilliant with its complexity and uncertainty in pursuing a relationship falling on the side of our girl-next-door heroine, rather than the hero. I loved seeing the strength that Ellie had, and how she knew what she deserved in a relationship. I understood her reluctance to pursue an attachment with sexy-rapper Mason, and I was intrigued from the start about what the viral video of her and an ex-boyfriend was. I had worries about her being used in a sex-tape, dancing around drunkenly, getting into bitch fights, even knowing everything I did about her, and knowing that wasn’t the type of girl she was. It made me angry when potential employers turned her down on the basis of her having been in a viral video, and I thought it was very much pot calling the kettle black as they had decided to watch the viral video in the first place. I was firmly on team Ellie, and my main concern throughout the book was her being seen as the strong, deserving woman that she was. I was so relieved, and pretty annoyed for Ellie when I discovered what exactly the video was, and how unfairly people were treating her because of it.

Mason was a brilliant love interest for Ellie. The differences between the two really made me laugh, especially when Ellie disses some music in the car one time, not knowing that it was in fact his music, or that he is a rapper at all. I loved how Mason brought her out of her shell and was there for her through her bad moments, trying to convince her of her worth, and in turn Ellie stood by him when issues with his family came up, lending her support and faith in his actions as a brother and son.

I loved the side of the paparazzi that was shown in this book. It gives a real indication into just how biased the media is, and despite me not being a very big celebrity-follower anyway, it still made me take extra caution to avoid any gossip sites that spring up whilst internet browsing, as it makes clear that any word and picture can be taken out of context and the articles are given from the media’s point of view without an official statement being made by the parties involved.

I loved the drama in this story, and liked how the characters had to fight against what their heads and hearts were telling them. It truly was a beautiful story to read, with some great moments of humor, drama, romance and a brilliant message underlying it all, that celebrities are real people with real feelings and the paparazzi are invading their lives and sharing the contents of it in a skewed manner.

A brilliant story, that is perfect for anyone in need of a book with a heart-warming romance. 5 Stars!


FINAL5
Enter below for the chance to win!
Prize: 2 signed paperbacks and 5 signed Rumor Has It bookmarks – open INTL

~ A Rafflecopter Giveaway ~


 
FINAL1
Elisabeth
Elisabeth Grace
I have a soft spot for romance novels with happily ever afters and a HOT spot for alpha males! I currently live outside Toronto, Canada with my hubby, two small children and cat spawned by the devil. Life is busy, but never to busy for a good story and to share my love of reading and writing with others. Things I can tell you that sum me up…I’m a sugar and carb addict, self-professed Gandy Girl, a disaster in the kitchen, a LOVER of all music, I enjoy reality TV and I’m an early riser! When I have a moment to breath you can usually find me typing furiously on the keyboard to get my next story on paper, or curled up reading about someone else’s HEA. The second book in my Limelight series, Picture Perfect, is set to release at the end of March 2014.

FINAL8

XpressoBannerTours
Blog Tour organised by Xpresso Book Tours.
Click the banner above to follow the ‘Rumor Has It’ Blog Tour.

2 thoughts on “Blog Stop ~ ‘Rumor Has It’ by Elisabeth Grace.

  1. Thanks so much for being a part of the tour! I’m so happy you enjoyed Rumor Has It and really ‘got’ who Ellie & Mason were both individually and as a couple. Happy Valentines Day!! ❤

  2. Wonderful review! I love how different this sounds for the NA genre which is definitely refreshing. I actually really love the famous person falls in love with girl-next-door story. I’ve only read a couple of books and I dunno what it is about it that I like but it’s just so fun to read. I think it’s the rich and famous lifestyle and realizing they’re just like us, too, you know. But anyways, this is one I obviously have to read! 🙂

Leave a Reply

