Book Review ~ ‘Unbound’ by Georgia Bell.

FINAL15

Unbound by Georgia Bell
All Good Things #1
Publication date: November 2nd 2013
Genres: Paranormal RomanceYoung Adult

Unbound by Georgia Bell


FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

After her father dies, Rachel realizes she is scared and stuck. Scared of heights, of cars, of disasters harming the people she loves. Stuck in a life that is getting smaller by the minute. Stuck with a secret she has kept all her life: Someone has been watching over her since birth. Someone who tends to show up when she needs him the most. Someone she believes is her guardian angel.

Eaden is a 1,500-year-old immortal who wants to die. Drained by a life stretched too thin, he has requested his final reward – a mortal sacrifice bred specifically to bring him death. But something went wrong. Rachel’s ability to grant death has mutated in ways that threaten to upset the uneasy alliance between mortals and immortals. And utterly beguiled, Eaden discovers that although Rachel is the key to his death, because of her, he no longer wants to die. And he will do anything to protect her.

Swept into a world of legends, caught between the warring political factions of immortals, and carrying the future of mortal kind in her flesh and bone, Rachel must risk everything to save her world and the man she loves.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47


FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘Unbound’ by Georgia Bell ~ 5 Stars!

I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

As a Psychology graduate, the mention of emotional, psychological issues in the blurbs of a book always draws me in. I love real characters with real emotions and feelings, and I need them to have these basic human traits to connect with them as real people rather than as a character I’m just following for the sake of the story.

Rachel’s character was one that I connected with immediately. Her deep desire to face her demons, yet the debilitating fear that makes it more difficult to do showed her to be just like any other young girl who was struggling with psychological disorders, or overwhelming emotion. I adored her for the strength she drew from sources very different to many other young people. All too often I read about young people turning to alcohol and sex to dull their emotions and feel safe, but I really admired her for the more healthy way that she dealt with her issues. Even though her ‘angel’ (the yummy Eaden) did actually exist, I really liked how her therapist explains to her that her vision of this guardian angel was not crazy, but a natural and healthy way to feel safe in a world that she struggled with. I think that’s why I loved so much when she met Eaden and listened to his story, and his explanation of what he was, with an open and honest mind.

The way that the relationship between Eaden and Rachel developed was done beautifully. I loved seeing her flashbacks to how he had helped her in the past, which had me thinking back to my own past and of the people who helped me when I was in need. Throughout ‘Unbound’ Georgia Bell has this breathtaking ability to make you question what is actually possible in life. I was thinking about whether or not I would have somebody watching over me as I grew up to make sure I was safe, and I enjoyed this wonderful sense of peace, both Rachel’s and my own.

The mystical scenes were written to perfection. I adored the way that myths and legends were entwined so closely with the real world and how we saw some familiar legendary faces only in different forms, which brings the realisation that myths and legends have been tweaked so much through the years that even famous people and places are very different to what they would have originally been.

Unbound just blew me away with its absolutely stunning storyline. I was expecting a Vampire Story from the blurb, but what I actually got was so much more original and exciting than any Vampire book I have read in a very long time. Unbound was unique in its vision of immortality and with its intriguing explanation of the genetics involved in immortality, I just jumped up and down in delight at the realistic explanation to how somebody could live forever. I need this realism in fantasy to stay grounded and to find the story relatable, and my word does Georgia Bell deliver a cracker of a story that had me drawn in until the last page. I had no idea how the story would end with all the twists and turns the characters took, and just had to get to the end to know what happened.

‘Unbound’ was a real stunning emotional rollercoaster of a journey that had me gripped throughout. 5 Stars and a definite recommended read!

ARC kindly provided by the author through Xpresso Book Tours.


FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~


FINAL8

~ Blog ~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~


Leave a Reply

