Book Review – ‘Pulling Me Under’ by Rebecca Berto.

FINAL15

Pulling Me Under by Rebecca Berto
(Pulling Me Under #1)
Genres: Psychological, Contemporary, Romance

Pulling Me Under by Rebecca Berto


FINAL3

SYNOPSIS

Paul was Katie’s rock for thirteen years, but then she watched him die.

By day, she is left with her daughter Ella’s questions about where Daddy went, and at night she’s consumed with nightmares of the moment he died. It isn’t long before Katie’s mother hints that her volatile lifestyle and developing drinking habits are no way to raise a little girl.

Through it all, her and Paul’s best friend, Liam is there. Grieving the death of both husband and friend, the time they spend together seems more intimate these days, and Katie soon stumbles into taboo territory: Liam might be in love with her.

Torn between Liam’s feelings and losing Ella, one night Katie runs.

Air. Space. Thinking time. That’s what she thinks she’s getting when she stumbles upon that party. In the morning, in a strange bed, she can’t remember the night before.

Pulling Me Under is raw in its brutality of love and pain, with slow-building suspense to a heart-stopping conclusion.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47


FINAL2

Book Review ~ ‘Pulling Me Under’ by Rebecca Berto ~ 5 Stars!

‘Pulling Me Under’ will be available to buy on October 13th 2013.

I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Wow is the only way in which I can describe this book. I’ve found it so difficult to write my thoughts down about how much I loved and connected to this novel because it is such a personal, emotional and heartwrenching story that any words I say won’t do it justice. The only thing I can actually say without giving anything away is that; you must read this book the moment it is released.

Author Rebecca Berto so cleverly gives us an insight into Katherine ‘Kates’ mind as she struggles through life after the death of her husband Paul, a death that she witnessed and feels responsible for. All too often books seem to skip past the nitty gritty, dark and painful times that people have to live through after the death of a loved one. Therefore I was overjoyed to follow the dark, compelling and psychological journey of Kates’ recovery, seeing first hand how the loss of her husband affects her relationships with her parents, best friend and most importantly her daughter.

Usually the romantic in me dominates my love for fiction, and the romance of a story is that which I connect to the most, but Rebecca Berto’s incredible storytelling in this book just drew me in and had me so invested in Kates’ relationship with her daughter Ella that I can’t tell you the number of times I was in tears as Kates struggled to recover from the trauma of her husband’s death in order to be the mother she wanted to be for her child.

Seeing every stage of Kates’ grief and how she first spirals into a dark psychological state and then gradually starts ti accept help had me so engrossed, and I had to stop reading for minutes at a time to take deep breaths, still my racing mind and remind myself that this wasn’t my life and it wasn’t me going through this trauma. The writing was just so extroadinary that I felt I was living the story as it happened. I could not read this book without completely immersing myself in it, and caring for the characters so much that I viewed them as close friends rather than fictional individuals on paper.

This book was truly stunning, a real masterpiece and a brilliant example of a realistic, dark gritty new adult book whose story will consume you. The timing was perfectly done and the contrast between the confused and distorted thought processes of the deeply grieving Kates and the slowly healing, loving Kates was spectacularly done.

6 stars and on my list of favourite books of all time.


FINAL6

~ Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~


FINAL8

d604b-rebeccaberto-authorphoto-june2013

~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Blog ~ Website ~


One thought on “Book Review – ‘Pulling Me Under’ by Rebecca Berto.

  1. Novel Girl says:

    Thank you for this! So, so appreciate. 😀

Leave a Reply

