So Many Books . . . So Little Time!

I appear to be in a rather pensive state of mind at the moment, so thought I’d put my rambles out into a blog post.

My Goodreads to-read list is getting longer and longer with every passing day. My bookshelves are creaking and groaning a little more every time a new paperback is lovingly placed on top (there’s no space actually on the shelves). My Kindle is getting a little closer to the 3,500 book limit every day, despite half of the books having not been read yet. But despite all that, I still always find myself reading this book again (I lost count of the number of times I’ve read it after it got to about 20+).

Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling

I think that is the magic of a good book, something that you can go back to so many times and still feel the thrill you felt the first read, even 20+ rereads later.

J.K. Rowling is my greatest inspiration as a writer. She gave me the best part of my childhood and gave me a world to escape to when the one we live in became too much. That she could round her characters so well, and make every one of their actions seem believable is awe inspiring. Maybe that is why I became a writer too. The desire to create my own world where I could escape to when reality lets you down, is a driving force of my writing, even if the story isn’t fantasy. We can give our characters the happy endings they deserve, and gives hope that there are people in the world like those characters we’ve created that give you hope for humanity.

So this is a rather rambly blog post that probably made very little sense, but was my way of expressing my thanks to J.K. Rowling, and all those other authors that gave me the best childhood, without which I wouldn’t be writing my own characters happy endings today.

Leave a Reply

